Umpire requirements for the County League

All umpires must be qualified to a level appropriate for the type of netball being played. Umpires must also register, or be registered by their clubs, with the Umpiring Secretary before officiating

The qualifications required for netball matches played in the Gloucestershire leagues are:

  • Top Division: B Award 
  • Next 3 Divisions: C Award
  • Lower Divisions: Into Officiating

Talent-identified umpires may be given permission by the Umpiring Secretary to umpire in a higher division whilst in training. This includes talent-identified non-qualified umpires if they have attended a relevant course.

In addition, Central Venue matches require umpires that are neutral for the fixture, and two scorers/timekeepers to be supplied by the teams playing.

No umpire may officiate more than two league fixtures in the same day, unless previously approved by the league umpiring secretary.

Those holding the old AENA Preliminary Award are not longer eligible to umpire in the Gloucestershire leagues.

The Umpiring Secretary is responsible for ensuring that relevant umpiring courses and information are available to all members of the GCNA. Courses are organised throughout the season where it is felt necessary. Anyone wishing to be considered for a qualification must contact the Umpiring Secretary.

Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook