New year, new rules

New rule book - 2011 Edition

From 1 January 2012, new IFNA Official Netball Rules come into force throughout England, affecting all Gloucestershire Netball matches.

There are some changes that may not impact county league level, however the changes to Rule 7 Stoppages will affect everyone.

In addition to the August 2010 changes that allowed coaching during stoppages, the new rules see changes to the Blood Policy, making blood stoppages distinct from a normal stoppage for injury or illness.

Louise Travis, IFNA Umpire, who officiated at the 2010 World Championship believes that from an umpiring perspective "the changes are welcomed, and they will assist in ensuring the rules are applied consistently."

Team Benches for Gloucestershire's Premier Division

The New Year will see a minor change to Gloucestershire Premier Division matches, with the addition of Team Benches.

Although provided for under the rules at all levels, until now only at Regional level and above has the Team Bench actually been a physical 'bench'.

To bring Gloucestershire's Premier Division into line with higher level netball, from January all squad members and team officials will be required to remain beside the court (i.e. inside the barriers), during play.

Claire Hopkinson, Gloucestershire Adult Competition chair said "this will help raise the profile of Gloucestershire's Premier Division, as well as differentiate spectators from Team Bench members and make the Umpire's job easier."

England Netball Supporters Club

Following the fantastic England win at the World Netball Series in Liverpool, now is the time to show your support in the England Netball Supporters Club!

  • Travel the UK and the World supporting England!
  • Take advantage of group travel and accommodation rates
  • Get closer to the action with the best seats in the Arena
  • Join like-minded netball enthusiasts and cheer on England at home and abroad
  • Take part in social and cultural experiences around World Championships, Test Matches, Commonwealth Games and World Netball Series

Follow your team to glory

Be part of the Launch of the England Netball Supporters Club at the 2012 Superleague Final in the London area in May.

Sign up now to show your interest

Download a registration form and return Joan Mills (address on the form).

November success for Gloucestershire umpires

This November was a successful month for the Gloucestershire umpire mentoring programme. With the first round of candidates ready to test, the county saw seven passes in quick succession.

Congratulations to Pauline Palmer, Chris Wilkes, Laura Sargison and Rebecca McNickle who have all passed their Beginner Umpire Award, and are now looking ahead at preparing for their C Award.

Well done to Kelly Witts and Laura Gillespie who passed their C Umpire Award. They are both looking forward to umpiring in the higher divisions of the Gloucestershire County League.

Finally, last Saturday saw Alison Worrall travel down to the University of the West of England just outside Bristol, to take her B Umpire Award test. The test was conducted on one of the tough Avon Premier Division games, but Alison performed well and passed. Congratulations to her!

The Officiating Working Group are looking forward to continuing with their existing candidates and taking on new umpires after Christmas.

Hucclecote win National Fast Net title

Hucclecote's winning team at the National Clubs Fast Net Championship 2011

Hucclecote Netball Club won the National Clubs Fast Net Championship at the Echo Arena in Liverpool on Sunday.

Under the watchful eye of coach Carl Hallbrook, the local club had progressed unscathed through the regional round of the competition held in Plymouth in September.

Last weekend it was coach Gilly Salter’s turn to guide her team to success at the finals.

Hucclecote were elated to become the first National Clubs Fast Net Champions and all credit must be given to not only the squad on the day and personnel at the finals, but also the squad members and personnel who were very much part of the earlier round.

The squad included: L. Hallbrook, G. Gray, O. Beveridge, N. Brennan, L. Smith, K. Walsh, J. Gabriel, H. Thompson and S. Perry.

Syndicate content
Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook